Logo international

Academic Adventure

Aventure scolaireAcademic Adventure is the ideal choice for students who have good French oral and written skills and want to take the same courses as French language Ontario students. This program can even lead to receiving the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) and to admission to a post-secondary college or university program in Canada.

The prerequisite for this stream requires that students have at least B1 (Threshold) Independent User status under the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. The following is a list of what students who wish to enter this program must be capable of for admission into this program:

  • Understanding the essentials of statements about familiar topics (school, recreation, personal needs, etc.) voiced in clear, standard French;
  • Expressing their experiences or events (dreams, goals, etc.) in simple French, explaining their opinions and retelling the story line of a movie or book;
  • Writing simple, coherent text about familiar subjects or personal interests, as well as personal letters that describe experiences or impressions.

Students who spend at least 10 months (two terms) in a Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario school will have the opportunity of having their language skills assessed at the end of Grade 11 or 12 by means of internationally recognized tests. The following two Educational Testing Service (ETS) tests will be given to international students who so desire, at no cost to them:

  • International French test: measures French language skills;
  • Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC): measures English language skills.

Logo international

Aventure scolaire

Aventure scolaireL’Aventure scolaire est le choix idéal pour l’élève qui possède de très bonnes compétences orales et écrites en français et qui veut suivre les mêmes cours que les élèves francophones de l’Ontario. Ce programme peut même mener éventuellement à l’obtention du diplôme d’études secondaires de l’Ontario (DESO) et à l’admission dans un programme d’études post-secondaires au Canada (collège ou université).

Ce volet requiert que l’élève possède au moins le niveau B1 (utilisateur indépendant) du Cadre européen commun de référence pour les langues. Voici ce que l’élève devrait être capable de faire en français avant d’entrer dans le programme :

  • L’élève peut comprendre les points essentiels quand un langage clair et standard est utilisé en français et qu’il s’agit de sujets familiers (ex. école, loisir, besoins personnels)
  • L’élève peut s’exprimer de manière simple en français pour raconter des expériences ou des événements (ex. ses rêves, ses buts), expliquer ses opinions et raconter l’histoire d’un film ou d’un livre.
  • L’élève peut écrire en français des textes simples et cohérents sur des sujets familiers ou d’intérêt personnel ainsi que des lettres personnelles pour décrire des expériences ou impressions.

Les élèves qui auront été au moins 10 mois (deux semestres) dans une école du Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario auront l’occasion de faire évaluer, à la fin de la 11e ou de la 12e année, leurs compétences linguistiques au moyen de tests reconnus au niveau international. Produits par la compagnie Educational Testing Service (ETS), deux tests seront administrés gratuitement aux élèves internationaux qui le désirent :

  • Test de français international : évaluation des compétences en français
  • Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC): évaluation des compétences en anglais.